Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Discussion on running your own board and editing MajorMUD.
User avatar
Kyau
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:35 am
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by Kyau » Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:11 am

Earlier today I spun this up in conjuction with the MBBS VM from major.butt.care that has TCP/IP with DMA Server installed on it. I used the code on his site for the DMA Server, then I installed one game, BLOX! on the MBBS DMA Server, flipped it into DMA Mode. Then added This client to my WG install added a menu option for the DMA ICO Client (not RLOGIN like the manual says) and used the dma string from the manual.

The manual that comes with it REALLY helps in setting this up too! Let me know if you have any other questions when you give it a go.


User avatar
BearFather
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by BearFather » Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:01 am

That's the basic steps I followed, I will give it a try tonight. But last time it would connect but ask for user and password. It would not forward the login info, this what it kept thinking I didn't crack tcp correctly.


User avatar
BearFather
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by BearFather » Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:59 am

Just wanted to pop in and say I have yet to try to make this work yet. Been a busy week, but wife free weekend coming up so will have a chance this weekend.


User avatar
Kyau
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:35 am
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by Kyau » Thu Apr 05, 2018 4:14 pm

BTW on the MBBS DMA server side of things I whipped up this document for a friend...

Code: Select all

Follow these steps to put your DMA Server into minimalistic mode before you
start installing modules.

NOTE: BANMODE or TCPSITES.BAN does not work correctly and if set to YES will
      block all incoming access to the DMA server, do not use this!


Configuration (Level 1)
BBSMAJOR.MSG
  - NUMBR1		255
TCPLIBM.MSG
  - MYIPADDR		x.x.x.x
  - NETMASK		x.x.x.x
  - GATEWAY1		x.x.x.x
  - PRIDNS		x.x.x.x
  - SECDNS		0.0.0.0
  - TCPIRLG		YES
  - HOSTNAME		subdomain
  - DOMNAME		domain.com


Configuration (Level 3)
TCPLIBM.MSG
  - DMACODE		DU781135
  - DMAPWD		passwordhere


Configuration (Level 4)
BBSMAJOR.MSG
  - BBSTTL		BBSNAME
  - LANGOP		AUTO
  - MAXCAT		20
  - PFCEIL		0
BBSSUP.MSG
  - ASKBDY		NO
  - SGNUSZ		27
BBSFTF.MSG
  - ZRZONE		<timezone in seconds>
GALMS.MSG
  - SUPU2S		NO
  - SUPE2U		NO
GALFIL.MSG
  - PFNCEIL		0
TCPFTPD.MSG
  - FTPONL		NO
  - FTPREJ		NO
TCPLIBM.MSG
  - SUBBBS		YES
  - DMASEQ		0x
TCPNNTPD.MSG
  - NNTPENAB		NO
TCPPOP3.MSG
  - POP3ENAB		NO
TCPSLIP.MSG
  - SLIPENAB		NO
TCPSMTP.MSG
  - SMTPENAB		NO
  - SMTPMIME		NO
  - ENABROUT		NO
TCPWEB2.MSG
  - WEB2ENAB		NO


Disabled Modules
  - FTP
  - IDENT Server
  - IRC Client
  - Polls and Questionnaires
  - QWK-mail
  - Registry of Users
  - TCP/IP FTP Server
  - TCP/IP Mime Decoder
  - TCP/IP Misc. Functions
  - TCP/IP NNTP Daemon
  - TCP/IP POP3 Server
  - TCP/IP SLIP Server V2
  - TCP/IP SMTP Server
  - TCP/IP WEB2 Server


User avatar
BearFather
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by BearFather » Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:51 pm

Okay so played with this last night and today a little and hit the same spot I hit before.

I go thru and set everything up, even followed yours I can actually connect and play games but with small hitch. When I setup my menu and set it to use ICO DMA Client, and set the string to "d <password> 0 192.168.1.145 . %u y y y p tradewars2002 #TW2002" And when I choose the option (j) I get this:

Image

If I answer the questions and put in "tradewars2002" it logs me and put me in the module. But doesn't do it automatic which is where I hit months back and could not get past. I thought maybe it was a bad crack dll, but trying another crack I get the same issue.


User avatar
Kyau
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:35 am
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by Kyau » Sat Apr 07, 2018 4:22 am

Did you do all the stuff in the TCPDMAIC.DOC that it says you have to? I think its MAXCAT and SGNUSZ or something, one is how many commands you can string together the other is user-id limit. Sounds like MAXCAT from what you are saying though. Make sure both of these are changed on both sides (DMA and WG).

This is how mine looks to go into remote file libraries:
dma.png
P.S. the #Name to disguise the module name doesn't work on the ICO client


User avatar
BearFather
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by BearFather » Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:26 am

OMFG It was the maxcat settings on the master bbs. As soon as I bumped that up it worked. I could kiss you!!! This is a project I have been working on for over a year! I could never find the maxcat in WG so never changed it. For some reason this morning I found it and changed it from 7 to 27 and bam logs into TW.

Now off to play and get this setup and figure out what games I want to host;)


User avatar
BearFather
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by BearFather » Sat Apr 07, 2018 8:20 pm

So one point I want to throw out after working on this all day long with tweaking and setting up a test system.

But you suggested your friend to set his dma channels to 255, at first I had did the same. I started to tweak things to bring memory usage down. One of the things I tried was bring the channels down from 255 to 80 and my ram usage dropped in half. So if you are running a lot and finding you are hitting memory limits lower the channels down to help out.


User avatar
Kyau
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:35 am
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by Kyau » Sun Apr 08, 2018 3:05 pm

Glad to see you got this working.

Side Note: This should basically eliminate the need to run anything other than WG now, except for the DMA server of course.


Shadoron
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:54 am

Re: Vircom DMA Client ICO v1.02

Post by Shadoron » Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:25 pm

Just wanted to bring this to your attention:

The DMA Client has been cracked and available for years, it's on the major.butt.care ftp server under Yohan's folder. It's awesome that you and others are getting back into cracking modules for WG again, but there's a ton of mods that were never cracked or only partially cracked that need attention. I'm sure this was great practice, and I'm hoping that you and your fellow associates will continue. I just hate to see you guys cracking stuff that's already been done. Things like the DMA server itself, SirSofts remote console, MajorCD, etc could all use attention. While the community does finally have a shared key for the DMA server, because of DOS's 16mb memory limit, you can very quickly fill up a DMA server. I currently run three different DMA servers to handle everything I'm hosting, and I could honestly use another one. The DMA server has built in protections to detect if you try to run more than one copy on the same network, with the same key. Another example is SirSofts Remote Console. Cool module that lets you see a replica of the old DOS MBBS mains system console, while remotely telnetting into your WGNT BBS. It has a partial crack, but because it was never finished, the mod goes into piracy protection mode, and doesn't recognize any of your key inputs. The mod and its partially working crack are also buried in the major.butt.care ftp.

Again, great to see attention being given to the WG platform, it's too bad that the major.butt.care ftp is so poorly organized. Your skills could have been used on something that wasn't already out there.


Post Reply