Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Questions, suggestions, ideas, and/or comments on MajorMUD Explorer.
User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by syntax » Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:06 pm

I am going to be making a round of updates to MME. Are there any bug reports and/or features requests while I am working on it?

Stuff already on the agenda:
  • Complete overhaul of the path writing capabilities. Too much to write here about this, but hopefully it will be awesome. Related topic: http://www.mudinfo.net/viewforum.php?f=59
  • Fix pasting of equipped items on equipment tab
  • Highlight equipped items in weapon and armor listing
  • Add a way to filter by items containing a certain ability and by item level
  • Re-Look into checking to see if a scroll is restricted to a class in order to hide it from another classes' filtered spell list


virucizer
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 4:46 pm

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by virucizer » Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:43 pm

LOVE #5.

Also, clicking remove filter on the Weapons tab does not truly remove the filter. The Speed amount is reverted back to 9999 and that filter still applies when Remove Filter is clicked. Not a problem on Stock, but mudrev weapons and probably weapons on other edited boards have speed in excess of 10000.


User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by syntax » Tue Mar 08, 2016 12:30 am

I know I thought about the scroll "issue" when developing it a long time ago and there was a reason I never implemented it. Don't remember what is was though (aside from the obvious that it's a second DB call/join) so I'll re-visit it.

Wasn't aware of the speed issue so I'll definitely hit that up. Thanks.


apathy
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by apathy » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:20 am

I don't know how feasible this is, but I'll put it out there anyway --

Often when looking for upgrades I look for +max damage, +crit, or whatever stat I need. I imagine that adding columns for every possible stat enhancement is a silly idea, but what about having a single "custom" column that displays data based on a pulldown that lets you select an ability? E.g. in the pulldown you select "BsMaxDmg" and this extra column shows the values for that specific modifier.

Just a random thought :)


User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by syntax » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:23 am

apathy wrote:I don't know how feasible this is, but I'll put it out there anyway --

Often when looking for upgrades I look for +max damage, +crit, or whatever stat I need. I imagine that adding columns for every possible stat enhancement is a silly idea, but what about having a single "custom" column that displays data based on a pulldown that lets you select an ability? E.g. in the pulldown you select "BsMaxDmg" and this extra column shows the values for that specific modifier.

Just a random thought :)
did you not read my post? lol

"Add a way to filter by items containing a certain ability"


apathy
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by apathy » Tue Mar 08, 2016 10:25 am

God, I'm so bad. I did read it, but somehow totally missed it :(

You ftw


Keldorn
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 8:05 pm

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by Keldorn » Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:37 pm

Would it be possible to release a Linux version?


User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by syntax » Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:24 pm

I doubt that would be even remotely possible without a complete rewrite. It's written in VB6. Pretty sure that's about as anti-Linux as you can get.


Keldorn
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 8:05 pm

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by Keldorn » Sat Mar 12, 2016 8:35 pm

How much of an undertaking would it be to convert your existing VB6 code to VB.NET and put the application on the web?


User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Re: Bugs and/or Feature Requests?

Post by syntax » Sat Mar 12, 2016 8:38 pm

Keldorn wrote:How much of an undertaking would it be to convert your existing VB6 code to VB.NET and put the application on the web?
I wouldn't bother converting it and would just rewrite it in PHP/Java. I just don't see the time investment being worth it though. Plus it would suffer a lot in speed I think. Especially when it comes to the map/room functionality.


Post Reply