Adding additional item slots + goto commands

Discussion on running your own board and editing MajorMUD.
Necrosaro420

Adding additional item slots + goto commands

Post by Necrosaro420 »

Is there an easy way to add additional item slots and goto commands? I am a novice when it comes to hex editing. I did try to add an additional slot in the dll (I assume I did it wrong), I "inserted" an extra slot name into the wccmmud.dll, but when I tried to load up the bbs, it crashed with a mmudplus error. Also, I would assume it is the same situation, but adding additional goto commands to new areas I create?

BearFather

Re: Adding additional item slots + goto commands

Post by BearFather »

The thing with the dll you have to watch what you change I do believe it checks the size of the file. It does some sort of check cause you change the file size it freaks, it might be also the memory addresses shifting that causes the issue.

Necrosaro420

Post by Necrosaro420 »

Ahhh I see. Yeah it said something about memory error on the wccmmpls.dll file or something.

syntax
Site Admin

Post by syntax »

Lols. DLL editing is nowhere near that easy. I'm assuming you added a string entry in a list of strings which is less than a fraction of what's involved. There are probably hundreds of lines of code dealing with equipping items, all converted to ASM that would need to be deciphered and altered to do such a thing. On the best of luck, you'd have to trace the code all the way through and maybe change a few integer maximum values and some memory addresses pointers, neither of which easy tasks. Most likely case is that it's virtually impossible.

BearFather

Post by BearFather »

While your digging around in there find out how to add more abilities to the player, 30 just not enough.

Necrosaro420

Post by Necrosaro420 »