Setting up a new board

Discussion on running your own board and editing MajorMUD.
Toake
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by Toake » Fri Apr 01, 2016 10:25 am

I am getting the error in NMR when I try to create the update file. Yes, I am editing the files in the WGSERV directory


User avatar
lucid2310
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:31 am
Location: Palm Bay, FL

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by lucid2310 » Wed Apr 06, 2016 1:23 pm

are you running NMR as admin, it will throw an exception at least on my PC (win 7) if it's doesnt have full permissions.


Toake
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by Toake » Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:19 pm

I uninstalled everything (WG and nmr), removed all entries from registry, reboot, reinstall following every step in the guide again, making sure to open NMR as admin, and I still get that error. The only thing I can think of, is that I did not install any hotfixes for sql, i cannot find that file anywhere. if can send it it'd be nice? However, the files convert with 100% success and I can edit anything in NMR just fine, just cannot compile an update, not sure if the hotfixes would resolve that issue but it's worth a shot...just cant seem to find that file anywhere...


User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by syntax » Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:31 pm

Toake wrote:I uninstalled everything (WG and nmr), removed all entries from registry, reboot, reinstall following every step in the guide again, making sure to open NMR as admin, and I still get that error. The only thing I can think of, is that I did not install any hotfixes for sql, i cannot find that file anywhere. if can send it it'd be nice? However, the files convert with 100% success and I can edit anything in NMR just fine, just cannot compile an update, not sure if the hotfixes would resolve that issue but it's worth a shot...just cant seem to find that file anywhere...
what version?


Toake
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by Toake » Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:31 pm

Not too sure on the whole pervasive thing. i downloaded the same 9.5 that is mentioned in the post, when i look to see the codes installed for it, it shows demo for pervasive.sql 9 server and registered (paid for) key for pervasive.sql 9 workgroup. I dont have the $85,666 minimum payment required to buy that and I'm pretty sure its not needed, considering how many boards are up and edited. I am referring to the hotfix mentioned in the first post, when I say I didnt install the hotfix, and need that file.


User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by syntax » Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:46 pm

Toake wrote:Not too sure on the whole pervasive thing. i downloaded the same 9.5 that is mentioned in the post, when i look to see the codes installed for it, it shows demo for pervasive.sql 9 server and registered (paid for) key for pervasive.sql 9 workgroup. I dont have the $85,666 minimum payment required to buy that and I'm pretty sure its not needed, considering how many boards are up and edited. I am referring to the hotfix mentioned in the first post, when I say I didnt install the hotfix, and need that file.
You can download it for free from their website. Just need to create a (free) account: http://www.pervasive.com/database/Home/ ... SQLv9.aspx (the windows file under "PSQL v9 Updates")

But here it is:
PSQLHotFixSetup952.7z
(4 MiB) Downloaded 90 times


Toake
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by Toake » Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:59 pm

It worked! Apparently that is a necessary step. Thank you kindly good sir


User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by syntax » Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:12 pm

Toake wrote:It worked! Apparently that is a necessary step. Thank you kindly good sir
No problem, how is your math?
http://www.mudinfo.net/viewtopic.php?f= ... 2&start=10

Pay it forward ;)


Djkao
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:27 pm

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by Djkao » Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:22 pm

Quick question do I actually need PSQL ,FuGlobals and Dailsoft? I have been running my server without these for about 6 months now and have been having no problems at all. I have a fully edited realm (new classes, races, items, and NPC's). Also if it matters, I'm running it at the moment on a laptop that is only like 2 years old that I have XP installed on.


User avatar
syntax
Site Admin
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:02 am

Re: Setting up a new board

Post by syntax » Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:38 pm

Djkao wrote:Quick question do I actually need PSQL ,FuGlobals and Dailsoft? I have been running my server without these for about 6 months now and have been having no problems at all. I have a fully edited realm (new classes, races, items, and NPC's). Also if it matters, I'm running it at the moment on a laptop that is only like 2 years old that I have XP installed on.
Nope. PSQL is just a newer btrieve engine, could provide more stability but also allows use of external utilities to access your data (e.g. for displaying on a webpage). FuGlobals is great for a variety of things such as online user listing, paging, repeat commands, etc. And dialsoft control is really only used as a way to prevent more than X number of connections to your box by IP address.


Post Reply